24.3 C
New York
Monday, June 21, 2021

Step-by-Step Guide to become real estate broker in Florida

How Long Does It Take to Become a Real Estate Agent in Florida?

It can take 4 to 6 months to become a real estate agent, depending on your state’s licensing requirements and when you take the real estate exam. Rarely does it take more than a year, though this is possible if you fail the exam multiple times or if you have to take the pre-licensing course again.

Real estate licensing is pretty consistent across the United States. In all cases, pursuing a real estate license can allow you to complete your education and begin working faster than a college degree. Though the exact specifics vary by state.

However, if you’re new to the real estate industry, it may take as many as three years to meet the Florida real estate broker requirements.

 

Step-by-Step Guide to becoming real estate broker in Florida

Florida
In Florida, license candidates are required to take 63-hours of coursework. An in-classroom course that meets twice a week for three hours could be completed in less than 3 months. Assuming a one to two week delay to schedule to the exam, and you could have your real estate license within that 4-month window.

Florida also requires post-license education, which would be another 45 hours or about another two months of course work.

The Florida housing market is currently strong: the median home price has increased to $233,000, compared to just $123,000 in 2012.

Every day, more Florida real estate agents are deciding to take the next step in their career by earning a broker license. Becoming a broker enables you to expand your business and earn more money by opening your own firm and managing a team of agents.

If you’re looking to become a Florida real estate broker, you’re in luck: the Sunshine State has some of the most lenient requirements in the country for real estate broker licensing. In this guide, you’ll learn exactly what it takes to get your Florida real estate broker license.

Qualifications

To qualify for a real estate broker license in Florida, you must:

  1. Be at least 18 years old;
  2. Possess high school diploma or GED; and
  3. Be licensed as a real estate agent for at least two years prior to applying.

Unlike other states, you need not be a permanent resident of Florida in order to earn a Florida real estate broker license.

Must Read: How long does it take to get a real estate license in Georgia

Steps to Become a Licensed Real Estate Broker in Florida

Becoming a real estate broker can be challenging, but the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) has some of the easiest requirements in the country for getting your broker license.

The FREC’s process for qualifying and certifying brokers in Florida essentially boils down to six key steps:

  1. Experience
  2. Pre-Licensing Education
  3. Application
  4. Examination
  5. Activation
  6. Post-Licensing Education

Step #1. Satisfy The Experience Requirements

As noted above, in order to qualify for a broker license in Florida, you must possess an active Florida real estate agent license, and have 24 months of work experience within the five years prior to your application.

Step #2. Complete Pre-Licensing Broker Education

Next, the Florida Division of Real Estate (FREC) requires that all real estate broker license applicants complete a 72-hour pre-licensing course. This course covers a range of broker-specific topics, including real estate law, principles and practices, real estate math, closing statements and escrow account reconciliation. The course valid for up to two years.

FREC maintains a database of approved pre-licensing education programs and providers across the state. To search for one of these providers, visit FREC’s website.

Note that if you have a bachelor’s degree or higher in real estate, you may be exempt from the broker pre-licensing education requirement. To apply for an exemption, submit an original certified transcript with your application.

Step #3. Submit FREC Application to Become a Broker in Florida

Once you’ve completed your broker pre-licensing education and experience requirements, you can submit an initial application to the FREC. This will enable you to take the broker exam and obtain your Florida broker license.

When completing your initial broker application, you’ll need to include documents that certify your pre-licensing education, experience, and current agent (or out-of-state broker) license status. In addition, you’ll need to undergo a criminal background check and submit electronic fingerprints via Livescan. A list of approved Livescan vendors is available on the FREC website.

When you’re ready, you can submit your initial application using Florida’s online system, or print out a paper application and send it via mail.

 

Step #4. Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination

In order to complete your Florida real estate broker licensing qualifications, you must pass the Florida real estate brokers exam.

The Florida real estate brokers exam is produced and administered by PearsonVUE, and consists of 100 multiple choice questions. Examinees have a total of three and a half hours to complete the exam, and must answer 75 of 100 questions correctly in order to pass.

The Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR) offers a Candidate Handbook with a full overview for examinees. The handbook includes procedures for scheduling and taking the exam, as well as a range of included topics, sample questions, and suggested study materials.

To schedule your exam and find a nearby test center, visit PearsonVUE’s website.

 

Step #5. Activate Your Broker License

Finally, once you’ve passed your Florida real estate brokers exam, you’ll be issued an “inactive” broker license. To activate your new license and begin practicing, you’ll need to complete the DBPR’s RE 13 Broker Transaction form.

This form can be submitted at your testing site after you’ve taken your exam. Alternatively, you may fill out the form at home and mail it to the Florida Real Estate Commission.

 

Step #6. Complete Post-Licensing Education

Congratulations: you are officially a Florida real estate broker! However, your “initial license” is only valid for one renewal period (18-24 months). To receive your full Florida broker license, you’ll need to complete 60 hours of broker post-licensing coursework. These courses cover the topics of real estate investment and brokerage management.

You may complete your post-licensing education requirements through any FREC-approved institution or program, either in person or online.

Latest Posts

spot_imgspot_img

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.