30.8 C
New York
Thursday, June 20, 2024

Messi wins second FIFA best men’s player award after World Cup heroics

Lionel Messi has been named FIFA Player of the Year for 2022 after guiding Argentina to their first World Cup title in 36 years.

The Paris Saint-Germain superstar received the prestigious award at a glittering ceremony in Paris on Monday night, beating team-mate Kylian Mbappe and Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema in the final ballot.

Messi, who also won the award in 2019, is the third player to win it twice, alongside Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski. The award was decided by a combination of votes from national team coaches and captains, journalists and fans worldwide.

The 35-year-old has had a stellar year, scoring 27 goals in 49 games for club and country. He was instrumental in Argentina’s World Cup win in Qatar, scoring four goals and providing five assists.

“This year has been really crazy for me. After so much struggle, so much searching, so much pushing, I was able to make my dream come true. It’s the best thing that happened to me in my career,” Messi said after receiving the trophy.

Alexia Putelas, Spanish midfielder for FC Barcelona (women’s team), was named FIFA Player of the Year for the second year in a row after leading her club to a league title for the third year row.

Mary Earps was named FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year in the year she helped the Lionesses win UEFA Women’s EURO 2022.

Argentinian striker Emiliano Martnes was named the FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year after outstanding performances at the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

England national team manager Sarina Wigman has been named FIFA Women’s Coach of the Year after leading the Lionesses to European glory and a second successive UEFA EURO FIFA World Cup trophy.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.